Is it Me or has Curling become a primetime player for The Winter Olympics

Daily writing prompt
What Olympic sports do you enjoy watching the most?

I’m not sure when Curling became popular enough to compete with Figure Skating as far taking up a primetime slot during the Winter Olympics, but it has done just that. I never heard of the sport until The 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang. I mean it was just something new to me and I know I’m not the only person that thought this was lame at the time. The thought of sliding what looks like a weight on ice while people or a person sweeps in front of the weight to then get close to or inside of the yellow circle. In 2018 it screamed lamed and nonsensical.

This sport dates back to the early 1800s and was in the Olympics since 1924. It isn’t like it was some sort of big deal until 1988. With all those facts, I still never heard of this sport being a big deal until 2022 in Beijing. It has a horseshoes, cornhole, bocce or croquet just on ice. for some reason NBC had it being that thing to watch on their cable channels and a major sport to focus on on Peacock, the streaming service owned by NBCUniversal. I caught onto the scoring during the mixed competition one day. Is it a sport one should be invested in? Watching the teams strategically do thing to score or block a score makes for great television even you have no idea what you’re watching, so yes. I’m looking forward to 2026.

Leave a comment